Aller au menu principal Aller au contenu principal

Athletics Manitoba – Hall of Fame

Athletics Manitoba

Athletics Manitoba Hall of Fame Inaugural Class

As part of the build up to the inaugural Athletics Manitoba Hall of Fame reception and launch party, and on behalf of the Board of Directors and the Awards Committee, we are pleased to share with you the names of the inaugural class of inductees!

Early on, the Board of Directors and committee members decided the best way to launch the Athletics Manitoba Hall of Fame was to begin by recognizing those individuals who have already been inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.

These individuals have incredible achievements to their name and have already received the outstanding honour and recognition of their mark on Manitoba’s rich sports history through their induction to the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. The Committee and the Board felt that it was only right for them to take their well-deserved spot in our own Athletics Hall of Fame.

This will be our largest ever class of inductees. Nomination process, categories and criteria will all be distributed to the public for future classes.

The Hall of Fame display will find its permanent home, quite fittingly in the James Daly Fieldhouse at the University of Manitoba, Max Bell Centre. With each new induction class having their names added annually.

(MB Sports HF)
Svein Sigfusson 1982 Athlete
Cyril Coaffee 1982 Athlete
Jack Smyth 1982 Athlete
Robina (Higgins) Haight 1984 Athlete
Joe Keeper 1984 Athlete
Tommy Town 1985 Athlete
Bruce Pirnie 1987 Athlete
Janet Maddin Neale 1987 Athlete
Maureen Dowds 1988 Athlete
Laurie Cohen 1989 Athlete
Brian MacLaren 1989 Athlete
David Lyon 1991 Builder
James (Jim) Daly 1994 Builder
Chris McCubbins 1999 Athlete
Angela Chalmers 2001 Athlete
Christian “Chris” Weber 2002 Athlete
Keith Beard 2002 Builder
Jeff Collins 2003 Builder
Ken Aseltine 2004 Athlete
Alistart Swanson 2004 Athlete
Jack Secter 2004 Athlete
John “Army” Howard 2004 Athlete
Max Kantor 2004 Athlete
Theresa Brick 2005 Athlete
Larry Switzer 2007 Builder
David “Dave” Drybrough 2009 Athlete/Builder
Ken Peters 2015 Athlete
Alanna (Yakiwchuk) Hinrichsen 2016 Athlete
Mary “Pitts” Dopson 2019 Athlete
Michelle (Bauknecht) Stilwell 2019 Athlete
Susanne Dandenault 2019 Athlete
Marilyn Fraser 2020 Builder

Please join us on Friday, September 29th at 7:00pm to honour and celebrate the inaugural class of inductees to the Athletics Manitoba Hall of Fame.

We will be hosting the evening at the Sport Manitoba Hall of Fame with light refreshments, a cash bar, and a wonderful evening filled with stories!

Event Details

Mark your calendars – we hope you will join us to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our members (past and present) and the incredible history of our organization!

Stay tuned to our website and social media where we will be sharing stories and details about each of our inductees throughout September in the lead up to the launch reception.

Toutes les nouvelles